Province-wide Shutdown to Come into Effect December 26, 2020

On December 21, 2020, Premier Ford announced that Ontario will undergo a province-wide shutdown effective 12:01 AM on December 26, 2020. The shutdown will mandate the closure of non-essential businesses and workplaces and will last for a period of 14 days in Northern Ontario and 28 days in Southern Ontario, subject to extension if necessary.

During the shutdown, the provincial government’s five-tiered colour coded COVID response framework will be suspended.

Essential businesses will be permitted to continue to operate, subject to new restrictions for retail and other businesses and facilities open to the public. Additional information for employers, including public health measures and sector-specific restrictions, can be found here.

For advice specific to your situation, consider contacting your regular lawyer at Rae Christen Jeffries LLP.