Ontario Declares a Third State of Emergency and Issues Stay-at-Home Order

On April 7, 2021, the Government of Ontario declared a third state of emergency under Section 7.0.1 (1) of the Emergency Management and Civil Protection Act.

In an effort to slow the spread of third wave of the COVID-19 pandemic, the Government of Ontario also issued a four-week province wide Stay-at-Home Order effective Thursday, April 8, 2021 at 12:01 A.M. The restrictions under the Stay-at-Home Order are similar to those under the Stay-at-Home Order issued in January. Schools will remain open for in-person learning, other than in areas where the local Medical Officer of Health has ordered their closure.

We will continue to monitor developments and will post further updates as information becomes available.

For advice specific to your situation, consider contacting your regular lawyer at Rae Christen Jeffries LLP.